top of page

Dream Come True: #2023LeeSeungGiAsiaTour

Updated: Aug 11, 2023



Last July 15, 2023, Lee Seung Gi concluded his #2023LeeSeungGiAsiaTour with his last stop being Bangkok, Thailand. It's so amazing that despite his busy schedule and his ongoing personal challenges, Seunggi was able to pull off a successful tour.


In a span of 2 months, Seunggi was able to showcase his unbelievable talent as a singer in Seoul, Tokyo, Osaka, Taipei, Manila, Kuala Lumpur, Jakarta, Singapore, and Bangkok.


Now, thanks to @airenmaers edit, a lot of the feelings I had while waiting and finally getting to meet him in person have resurfaced and so now I am just filled with emotions that I want to share.



If you read my previous post https://bit.ly/iStanTheRightMan you'll know I've been a fan of Seunggi since 2021, and ever since then, I had been praying and hoping I get to see him in a fanmeet like what he did with the Vagabond Voyage Tour in 2019. I was so bummed when I found out he toured in 2019, just before the pandemic hit! I kept wishing I'd known him for far longer, thinking it would take a loooot of years before he held another fanmeet. God must've heard my prayers because I did not expect him to be holding a fanmeet anytime soon, let alone a concert; but one fine day in March, his agency HumanMade officially announced that he'll be having his Asia Tour starting May 2023.



The simple poster brought out so much feelings that I literally screamed into a pillow out of happiness and excitement. I didn't know what to do at first, I only remember messaging my mom and telling her that we definitely SHOULD NOT MISS this opportunity to see Seunggi IN PERSON. Being the Airen that my mom is, she immediately agreed and even told me to invite my sister-in-law too (who was a recently turned Airen)! We were all so excited and started planning even if it was 2 months before he was scheduled to come to our country. We just couldn't believe it, what was once just a dream was now about to turn into reality.


When the seat plan and ticket prices were released, we decided we'd get VIP tickets no matter what! As I was the youngest and the one always online, they relied on me to get those tickets.. Imagine the anxiety hahaha. I had NEVER been to a concert before in my life. I had never ever tried to buy a ticket for anything remotely close to a concert before, and now here I was, anxiously waiting for ticket sales to officially open. When I look back on how I was hours before the official opening of ticket sales, I can't help but laugh at myself. I was literally on my laptop refreshing the ticket sales website knowing nothing was gonna happen before 12noon. My hands were cold and my heart was pounding as the clock neared 12 o'clock.


11:55... 11:56... 11:57... 11:58... 11:59... CLICK! CLICK! CLICK! CLICK!


I have extremely bad eyesight, but at that moment everything was crystal clear. I just kept clicking until I got to the checkout page and then switched to my phone for payment then back to laptop for confirmation and boom! VIP TICKETS SECURED!!


Right after getting our fantastic seats, right smack in the middle of the theater, not too close but not far either, I just felt my heart trying to burst out of my chest. I couldn't believe my luck, and it turned out Seunggi gave me enough luck to win free tickets from VIU and win Soundcheck together with my mom and my sister-in-law! It all felt like God was really rooting for us to go see Seunggi LIVE.


Fast forward to D-DAY, we decided to go to the venue early, well, because we were just that excited. We arrived 11:00am when soundcheck was scheduled at 4:30pm haha, but no regrets whatsoever.


Anticipation was through the roof seeing so many Airens gathered outside the theater. Lots of freebies were handed out by generous Airens and the beautiful setup of the official LSG Fanclub in coordination with LSGKWA were all Instagram worthy. The funniest part while waiting outside was, believe it or not, all of us thinking an ambulance siren was signal that Seunggi had arrived at the venue so we all just screamed without even seeing anything, hahaha!


Entering the theater was just surreal for me, for us. I'm pretty sure I am not alone when I say that I was practically holding my breath waiting for Seunggi to walk out onto the stage and start singing. First on the stage were Sooji and Byeong-ho and the rest of the band members. I was already feeling tense because finally this was it, this was real, I was going to see Seunggi UP CLOSE.


When he walked in, in his white polo shirt and khaki pants, mic on hand.. I just lost it. There right in front of me, in the flesh, was the LEE SEUNG GI.


Not one person in that theater was silent. EVERYBODY, SOLI JILLEO (소리 질러)!


The entire night was literally me and my mom and my SIL living our dream. Seunggi was beaming with positive energy, and his smile.. Oh there are not enough words to describe how handsome his smile is... It simply cannot be put into words.


Don't even get me started about his voice.. It was simply so mesmerizing, and I keep using this word because I feel it's the perfect way to describe how he just magically pulled me in.. I didn't even bother recording him anymore coz I just wanted to keep looking at him while listening to him sing.. His voice.. It was like listening to the official recording... but BETTER. He sang a total of 16 of his hit songs that night, not even faltering once.


That night was easily one of the best nights of my life...


After seeing Seunggi up close and hearing him LIVE, my admiration for him just grew even more.. Imagine having to go through what he's going through while touring Asia, and giving his fans what they want.. Seunggi's fan service is really up there. We asked him to sing Losing My Mind twice, and he did! The entire song!


I'm so happy that throughout his Asia Tour, he gained back more confidence as a singer that he ended up singing a total of 21 songs the entire tour:

  • The Dreamer's Dream

  • Wind

  • Return

  • The Ordinary Man

  • Desire & Hope

  • Forest

  • Circle

  • Like a Flower

  • Losing My Mind

  • *Unreleased Song*

  • Forbidden Love

  • Even Though I Loved

  • Delete

  • Encore

  • Music Time

  • Because You're My Woman

  • Slave

  • Mackerel

  • Don't Worry My Dear

  • Wherever You Are

  • Smile Boy

Now that Seunggi is done with his Asia Tour, he'll be bringing his The Dreamer's Dream: Chapter 2 in the USA, with schedules set for LA, Atlanta, and New York/New Jersey. I couldn't be more proud of Seunggi right now.. He has more energy, more passion, more determination, and more confidence in himself.


He promised he'll come back for his very first World Tour. My promise is to be there for him again, and continue to give him 100% of my support and love.


See you again soon, Seunggiya! Hwaiting!







70 views2 comments

2 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Laraib Ahmed
Jul 22, 2023
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Beautiful to read! I know he will smash his US performances too! Man is a fighter!

Like

eyangairen
eyangairen
Jul 21, 2023
Rated 5 out of 5 stars.

Seunggi really is an amazing performer and the feelings he'll make you feel is unforgettable!💯

Like
bottom of page