top of page

I Stan the Right Man

Updated: Sep 9, 2023

Hello! Welcome to our page, glad you could join us!


My fellow Airens and I decided to put up a blog to celebrate someone very dear to us. While we come from different walks of life, one person brought us together, and that is the one and only Lee Seung Gi. Why would we celebrate a person we don't know personally? We have different reasons but ultimately, you'll realize we all have something in common; it is that Seung Gi brought us so much more than entertainment. He brought us laughter, sincerity, friendship, amazing music, a boatload of feelings through his dramas, and above all else, healing from whatever kind of challenge or pain we were going through..


But! Instead of speaking for my fellow Airens, I'd like to tell you my story of becoming an Airen myself..


It all started during the pandemic, around 2020.. I didn't know anything about K-content then, but I was curious why my friends and my mom (super K-drama addict!) were so fond of their shows or their music. One day, one of my friends finally convinced me to watch a K-drama, and that was It's Okay Not to Be Okay. Needless to say, that series had me balling my eyes out! I thought it was just because the story was so good and relatable, only to find out later I had already been going through depression that time. I decided not to watch any K-drama again after that because I thought all stories would be as heavy as IONTBO, so I took a breather; but my curiosity got the best of me. I researched movies instead of dramas, and found a genre perfect for my taste! Being a Psychology major suffering from MDD, I guess it made me lean towards psychological thrillers. I found gems like Memoir of a Murderer, Memories of Murder, Forgotten, The Vanished, I Saw the Devil (personal fave!) and so much more! ---- Korean movie makers certainly know what they're doing! Their story telling is waaaay better than any western movie I've ever watched (no bias).


After going through so many movies, I felt like I had watched everything there was to watch, so I decided to try out psychological dramas this time. After getting hooked on Kingdom, I discovered Beyond Evil, and of course I loved it. Now this is where it all begins....


I randomly discovered MOUSE. I had no idea which actors were which, I just watched movies and dramas without knowing who anyone was, except for Kim Soo Hyun, who I was kind of crushing on that time because of IONTBO and his movie Secretly, Greatly. Then I started to binge on Mouse, and it made me curious about the lead actor. He wasn't the typical flower boy that most Korean actors seemed to look like. His aura was very manly, and his acting was top notch. He slowly started to grow on me.. It was such an indescribable feeling.. (Mouse was just mind-blowingly good that it deserves a different post on it's own.)



I became more curious and researched more about this man named Lee Seung Gi. I happened upon a YouTube video of him SINGING. I was shocked to my core. The man could sing! Not just sing-sing, he literally belted his lungs out like there was no tomorrow; and I kid you not, I looped his cover of Forbidden Love the entire day because his voice was just simply mesmerizing. If you hadn't heard him sing yet, well check it out for yourself! Here's an article about his legendary performance with 19M views as of this writing:




To cut the long story short, his voice just sank me deep into what we call the "Seung Gi black hole".. I simply wanted more!


The first episode of Master in the House that I watched was Ep. 163 and it was just a clip from YouTube. From then on I learned how and where to watch his shows. I binged Master in the House in just a few months until I caught on the latest episodes. He was so funny without even trying! I loved how he was obsessed about sharing his stories and experiences during his military days. His humor was so natural that I noticed myself just smiling throughout each episode. Seung Gi led MITH for 5 years. (I wish MITH didn't have to end, but as they say, when one door closes, another one opens..)


The more I researched about him, the more I fell in love. I discovered his dramas and his movies. After I watched Mouse, I moved on to Vagabond, which I found funny because I had already been seeing the Vagabond thumbnail in Netflix but didn't even give it a second thought until I found out Seung Gi was the lead actor. Needless to say Vagabond was a perfect mix of action, drama, and romance, all rolled into one!









After Vagabond I watched Hwayugi (A Korean Odyssey) and OMG his visuals here were just over the top! He was drop-dead-gorgeous and just oozing with charisma it was hard to take my eyes off him! I wasn't a fan of fantasy drama but hey, anything with Seung Gi in it, count me in!








I moved backwards with his dramas, after Hwayugi there was You're All Surrounded, Gu Family Book, The King 2 Hearts, My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, Brilliant Legacy, and then finally his latest, The Law Cafe.










In between watching his dramas and MITH I discovered his first official variety show where he became a regular member, 1Night 2Days (2D1N)





This was where he started his path to being one of the best entertainers in the K-industry. It was such a joy to watch him growing in each episode. I began to see how he made his way from being the heodang of 2D1N, always being teased by his hyungs, to being the leader in MITH.


One thing that has been constant about Seung Gi is that he never fails to show his natural self in his variety shows. That has been something I was able to observe while following his career. He is always so genuine, so passionate, and determined. His true self is what makes him stand out the most. The way his colleagues talk about him shows what kind of a person he is; as everyone who has worked with him always say the same thing: he is genuine, he is sincere, he is kind, he is funny, he is amazing.






Finally, Seung Gi's voice has calmed me all throughout my mental health journey. Whenever I feel like the world is tumbling down on me again, I listen to his songs. I used to have Spotify premium just so I could play his songs non-stop until I fell asleep. Now I have YouTube premium because of HumanMade and his Human Table and Table Concert Series! :-D


I have known Seung Gi for just a little over 2 years now, but I know I'll be supporting him for a very very very loooong time. I look forward to more of his projects, his music, his philanthropic activities, and anything that is related to him, I will always keep an eye on.


There are many talented K-entertainers out there, but there is only one LEE SEUNG GI. That's how I know I stan the right man.






211 views3 comments

3 comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Mae M.
Mae M.
13 de jul. de 2023
Avaliado com 5 de 5 estrelas.

I feel you🥰 After seeing him in the first episodes of Master in the House, I became interested and searched about him online. That's how I found out that he is a great all-rounder artist and a great person. From then on, I watched his old projects and look forward to his every projects. The more I follow him, the more I get amazed by his mindset, passion, talents, sincerity and many more! He is indeed the one and only LEE SEUNG GI!

Curtir

Laraib Ahmed
10 de jul. de 2023

It wouldn't be an understatement to say I grew up watching Seungi-his dramas, variety shows and music- i loved everything. He is truly a unique gem in the industry and someone who just kept getting better and better over the years. While the past couple of months have been rough and probably more obstacles soon to follow- I do not doubt his hard working ethic and resilience! I pray he has a happy and fulfilled life! I know he has many activities for us to look forward to and I am here for it all!

Curtir

eyangairen
eyangairen
10 de jul. de 2023
Avaliado com 5 de 5 estrelas.

I never want to leave his blackhole..😝😂🤭

Curtir
bottom of page